Recipe #1, and Ode to my favorite blogger.

Before I post this recipe, which I tried from my newest cookbook, I have a slight confession: I’m kind of obsessed with The Pioneer Woman on Food Network.  I was actually inspired to start a blog because of her.  She is a rancher’s wife who began a blog as a way to share her daily life with far away family members, and after posting recipes and realizing she had quite a following, she really struck it big.  I have no high aspirations to have my own cooking show, and though I love to cook, I don’t have a lot of original recipes yet; I still consider myself a student, but I sure enjoy trying new recipes and learning new techniques, which is what I plan to share here on my blog.  But please believe me when I say I have had some major kitchen meltdowns.  Oh, the meltdowns.

This recipe I’m posting is from “The Pioneer Woman Cooks,” which I think is her first cookbook she published, which my husband just gave me for Christmas because he knows that I’m, well, obsessed.  The recipe is as simple as it gets, and I decided to give a quick try one morning when feeling bored with my standard fried eggs and toast.  The result was rich, buttery toast with a creamy, medium-cooked egg in the center that made it so handy to smear the yolk all over the toast and gobble it down.  It’s super easy, and takes very little brain power.  Try it next time you have a hankering for eggs and toast in the morning; it’s just a little something different to start your day right.  Thanks, Ree!  Let’s be friends!  Please?

Egg in the Hole, by Ree Drummond, aka The Pioneer Woman

First, take a couple pieces of bread and cut a hole in the center.  I used a wine glass turned upside down, because I’m apparently a lush, but maybe you’re fancy and have a biscuit cutter.  Use your imagination.

1

Then take about 1 Tbsp butter and throw it in a skillet over medium-high heat.  I used my new cast iron skillet that I’m slowly becoming obsessed with.  Let the butter melt and spread over the whole pan.

2

Once the butter is melty and sizzling, throw the bread in the pan, then take an egg and crack it into the hole in the bread.  Repeat for however many pieces of bread you have.

3

Then season the egg with salt and pepper, to your taste (I prefer more salt to pepper, but some people just love their pepper).

5

Give the bread about a minute, and when the underside is browning nicely, flip the bread and egg over with a spatula.  You can throw in a little more butter too (about 1-2 more Tbsp).  Now season this side with a little salt and pepper.  Give this side a minute or two, depending on how well you like your eggs done.  I like my yolks still gooey so I can spread them all over the bread.

6

And voila!  Not beautiful, not food art, but rich and delicious, and a new way to have your morning eggs that takes no extra time at all.

7

Funnily enough, I never liked runny eggs until I studied in France in college.  My host mother used to make the most insanely delicious galettes with ham and a sunny side up egg; she’d then take a fork and smear the yolk of the egg all over the galette and proceed to devour the whole thing.  And then another.  And from that first taste of galette onward, I practically NEED my eggs to be runny.

And now I need to eat some crepes.

Leave a Reply

